Sarwan in Windies World Cup squad

Wed, Jan 19, '11


Ramnaresh Sarwan

The West Indies Cricket Board today announced the West Indies 15 man squad for the Cricket World Cup 2011.

West Indies squad

Darren Sammy – Captain
Adrian Barath
Carlton Baugh Jr
Sulieman Benn
Darren Bravo
Dwayne Bravo
Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Christopher Gayle
Nikita Miller
Kieron Pollard
Ravi Rampaul
Kemar Roach
Andre Russell
Ramnaresh Sarwan
Devon Smith


"The Selection Committee deliberated extensively over the selection of this most important World Cup squad and while choosing some players was straightforward we believe that we have come up with a good mix of players who will be able to do well in the Asian conditions,” Chairman of the Selection Committee Clyde Butts said.

"We have some of the most experienced ODI cricketers on the international stage along with the effervescence and freshness of some quality young players who we are confident can not only contribute to the team but win matches,” Butts added.

Prior to the World Cup, the squad will play three One Day Internationals against Sri Lanka on January 31st and February 4th and 6thand will be engaged in a preparatory camp before their first World Cup match on February 24th against South Africa.

West Indies Team Management Unit

Ottis Gibson – Head Coach
Richie Richardson – Team Manager
David Williams – Assistant Coach
CJ Clarke – Physiotherapist
Hector Martinez-Charles – Fitness Trainer
Richard Berridge – Video & Statistical Analyst
Philip Spooner – Media Manager
Vigil Browne - Masseur