The Independent Voice of West Indies Cricket

Message Board Archives

Brendan Taylor - drugs and match fixing entrapment -BANNED

Narper 2022-01-24 14:19:10 

Taylor's full statement here:

I have been carrying a burden for over two years now that has sadly taken me to some very dark places and had a profound effect on my mental health. And I have only recently started sharing my story with close friends and family and received the love and support I guess I was too ashamed and frightened to seek in the first place.

This may not make for comfortable reading but I would like to make a statement regarding a finding made by the ICC, which is soon to be released.

Tryangle 2022-01-24 14:30:31 

A really sad tale.

Consider that at the lower rungs of the international ladder where players aren't getting paid much at all, getting a financial offer for spot fixing can be seen as life-changing money.

It has to be a major concern for ICC and the relevant boards when it comes to the integrity of the sport and so on.

Narper 2022-01-24 20:06:44 

In reply to Tryangle
Very sad story.

I just hope our youngsters keep their heads on.
These indian bookies are aggressive.
Whatever happened to the recent case with Ikan Samuels and the UAE board?

Tryangle 2022-01-24 21:49:17 

In reply to Narper

Any fringe/emerging player from WI or elsewhere, who may not have a secure contract, will be seen as especially vulnerable to the sharks.

And with all these tournaments across the globe, comes opportunities to bet... and therefore a chance for spot fixing and other exploitation.

camos 2022-01-24 22:40:31 

sad indeed

SnoopDog 2022-01-25 02:25:28 

In reply to Narper

These indian bookies are aggressive.

I can only imagine how many of those IPL games are fixed in any given season.

One of the many reasons I don’t look at that shit.

Walco 2022-01-25 11:28:21 

In reply to Narper