The Independent Voice of West Indies Cricket

SIX??

imusic 2/23/24, 12:58:29 AM
imusic avatar image

debut: 11/13/02
77,812 runs

doosra 2/23/24, 11:25:51 AM
doosra avatar image

debut: 5/26/04
92,573 runs

In reply to imusic

that's a good one but now I may have to draw for the rule books

my first reaction was contact was made with the boundary lol but does the rule cater for multiplayer contact

i paused when that happened and came here...i was right lol

but yes the laws being put to test, new things
- edited -
FanAttick 2/23/24, 1:15:03 PM
FanAttick avatar image

debut: 11/13/02
63,407 runs

In reply to doosra

Do the laws of cricket apply to Lickit? I thought lickit is a free for all?
- edited -
SnoopDog 2/23/24, 2:32:33 PM
SnoopDog avatar image

debut: 1/24/04
14,908 runs

In reply to doosra

but yes the laws being put to test, new things


New stupid things.

All of Steve Waugh's claimed "catches" now look positively legitimate compared to the shit you now see in lickit.
cumberland 2/23/24, 4:22:49 PM
cumberland avatar image

debut: 12/4/22
821 runs

The fielder was in control of the caught ball before his colleagues intervention! That's out for me.
Maispwi 2/23/24, 7:58:29 PM
Maispwi avatar image

debut: 2/4/03
16,348 runs

I think the catch was completed and the fielder was in control of the further disposal of the ball before contact was made
- edited -
TanteMerle 2/23/24, 8:52:54 PM
TanteMerle avatar image

debut: 2/22/04
7,705 runs

In reply to Maispwi

The catch is not completed until the fielder demonstrates control of the ball and his movements.
Hense a fielder must complete to a complete stop to show his control of his movements.
Hence, you see fielders throwing the ball in the air when their body movements will take them over the rope.
Touching a fielder who is in contact with the rope is tantamount to you touching the rope

Exhibit A: - He demonstrated complete control of the ball.
Exhibit B: - He was not in complete control of his movements, as he tried to avoid the falling Bell-Drummond
Exhibit C: - He did not complete to complete stop with his movements before contacting Bell-Drummond
Exhibit D: - As Bell-Drummond was contacting the rope, it is a 6.

Correct call made, IMO.

Disclaimer: I am not an hexpert.

razz
Maispwi 2/23/24, 11:41:56 PM
Maispwi avatar image

debut: 2/4/03
16,348 runs

In reply to TanteMerle

You do not have to come to a complete stop to be deemed to be having control over the further disposal of the ball
googley 2/24/24, 2:13:43 AM
googley avatar image

debut: 2/9/04
22,000 runs

Correct decision was given.
TanteMerle 2/24/24, 8:43:54 AM
TanteMerle avatar image

debut: 2/22/04
7,705 runs

In reply to Maispwi

Your statement is incomplete so let me complete it for you.

As long as there are no obstructions, that it, a chance of a collision with the boundary rope, or extension thereof.
Bell-Drummond created an extension of the rope.
Any part of a fielder touching the rope, creates the extension of the rope.
How many time have we seen fielder save the ball from touching the rope,
but the fielder is in contact with the rope and ball at the same time, negated the save.

If a fielder is well within the rope, no issue.

Control is presumed easily when fielders are far from the rope.

It's called situational awareness or analysis.

However, one has to has some knowledge of interpretation of laws to understand this.

the rules of interpretation of laws take away subjectivity and creates objectivity.

Bottom-line, the correct decision is OUT.