Open letter to ICC following decisions on West Indies and Nepal

Thu, Apr 28, '16


WICB Under Scrutiny

Dear ICC,

First things first, cricket fraternity stands in unison to applause all your Board members for finally taking out time for a meeting that had some of the most derisory decisions being arrived at, after the T20 World Cup that ended three weeks ago. It will be safe to say that the Council hit new lows with a few of its decisions, with the highlight being the cancellation of Nepal’s membership and your resentment against truth that was put forth by the brave Darren Sammy. The West Indies captain — and the first captain ever to win two ICC World T20 tournaments spoke nothing but truth — but your dissent proved that the game has a very tough time ahead. ALSO READ: Simmons, Badree’s sacrifice and hapless state of WICB

In case if you are not aware, cricket in Nepal is being taken by its fans even more passionately than in India. If passion was the parameter, a handful of Nepal cricket fans can easily thrash the thousands in India, and may be even those in Bangladesh. But a certain clause in your Articles of Association now carries the danger of hampering the growth of cricket in a country which has just started to pick up.

Coming back to West Indies, it looks like you were not completely aware of the battles those ‘15 match-winners’ fought everyday, ever since they got together for a special journey. You do not seem to be aware that West Indies cricketers had no contracts in place — no guarantee of income by their cricket board — before it all began. West Indies cricketers had no uniforms, they were ridiculed by their own cricket board, critics, and even fans. Anyone who needed to take out his frustration had West Indies as the sitting duck. You do not look like being aware of any of this.

read he full article at Cricket Country

comments 18 comments full article

Mumbai call in Jerome Taylor for injured Malinga

Wed, Apr 27, '16


Media Watch

Mumbai Indians have signed West Indies pacer Jerome Taylor as a replacement for the injured Lasith Malinga for the remainder of IPL 2016. Taylor trained with Mumbai on Wednesday, and will be available for selection for their game against Kolkata Knight Riders on Thursday.

A knee injury has kept Malinga out of action since February this year; he last played competitive cricket in the Asia Cup and missed out on the subsequent World T20. His participation in the IPL was always doubtful, but Mumbai had decided to wait until their first five matches were completed to give him time to recover before looking for a replacement. The highest wicket-taker across IPL seasons, Malinga was eventually ruled out of the 2016 tournament on April 17.

read more at ESPNcricinfo

comments 14 comments full article

CPL banks on Caribbean diaspora for T20 success in Lauderhill

Wed, Apr 27, '16


Caribbean Premier League

Chief Operating Officer of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) Twenty20 (T20) tournament Pete Russell says hosting matches in Florida is an effective way of tapping into cricket-loving markets in the United States.

This year’s HERO CPL, the fourth edition of the tournament, is set to stage games outside of the Caribbean for the first time.

Six matches are scheduled for Central Broward Regional Park & Stadium in Lauderhill, Florida between July 28 and 31.

CPL T20 organisers believe the move is a recipe for success.

They are banking on grabbing the attention of some of the hundreds of thousands of people with Caribbean heritage living in Florida, especially with the heavy concentration in and around the city of Fort Lauderdale.

read more at Jamaica Observer

comments 0 comments full article

Pakistan hoping to play day-night Test against West Indies in UAE

Tue, Apr 26, '16



Pakistan are hoping to play a day-night Test against West Indies ahead of their tour to Australia, according to a report in on Tuesday (April 26). West Indies are scheduled to play two Tests and six One-Day Internationals in October this year in the United Arab Emirates.

The move is aimed at helping the players get accustomed to the challenges of day-night Tests before the crucial tour. "It was one of the things discussed in the cricket committee's previous meeting," said Misbah-ul-Haq. "If you don't have match practice it will become difficult to play at Test level.

read more at Times of India

comments 0 comments full article

ICC criticises West Indian players behaviour

Mon, Apr 25, '16



The ICC Board held its second meeting of 2016 at the ICC Headquarters in Dubai on 24 April. Among the decisions made and reports received were:

ICC World Twenty20 India 2016

The Board congratulated the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) for completing an unprecedented treble by winning the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2016 as well as women’s and men’s titles at the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016.

The Board also complemented the BCB and the BCCI for the successful staging of these events and also thanked its broadcasters, commercial partners, fans and media for their support in making these events a success from a fan engagement perspective.

The Board considered the behavior of some of the West Indies players in the immediate aftermath of the final, and unanimously agreed that certain comments and actions were inappropriate, disrespectful and brought the event into disrepute. The Board acknowledged an apology by the WICB but was disappointed to note that such behavior had detracted from the success of what was otherwise a magnificent tournament and final.

read the full report at ICC

comments 20 comments full article

More News